POWER OF INTELLIGENCE

Insight Center: Events & Webinars

Taxation and Accounting Issues With Debt Restructuring, Modifications and Bankruptcies; Lorman Education Services Taxation and Accounting Audio Conference

Speaker: Steven D. Bortnick

11/21/2011

November 21, 2011
1:00 p.m. ET | 12:00 p.m. CT | 11:00 a.m. MT | 10:00 a.m. PT

Pepper Hamilton attorneys Steven D. Bortnick and Michelle Moersfelder will be speaking at a Lorman Education Services audio conference, "Taxation and Accounting Issues With Debt Restructuring, Modifications and Bankruptcies."

The recent market climate has created opportunities for investors or debtors themselves to acquire outstanding debt at remarkable discounts. Unfortunately, it also has left many companies struggling and in need to modify their outstanding debt. Many large, well known companies have dissolved or declared bankruptcy. Debt modifications, repurchases and bankruptcy can have a profound tax impact on borrowers and lenders alike. Presenters will discuss a myriad of issues, including rules that treat debt modifications as taxable transfers, the taxation of cancellation of indebtedness income and exceptions thereto, and the stimulus package rules that allow for a deferral of tax on the cancellation of indebtedness. They also will discuss the impact of these transactions on holders of distressed debt. Any person advising a company considering modifying or repurchasing its debt or declaring bankruptcy should attend this important audio conference.

For more information, visit http://www.lorman.com/audio-conference/388697.

Event Documents

Post-Event Document (.pdf)